Posts Tagged ‘Hourglass Evernight’

Hourglass Evernight Review.

Sunday, September 2nd, 2012

Hourglass Evernight

Hourglass Evernight Review.

Compare & Purchase Hourglass Evernight at Amazon by clicking here!

List Price: $16.99

Amazon Price: $11.55

Click Here To Purchase At Amazon!

Hourglass Evernight Description:

Bianca will risk everything to be with Lucas.

After escaping from Evernight Academy, the vampire boarding school where they met, Bianca and Lucas take refuge with Black Cross, a fanatical group of vampire hunters. Bianca must hide her supernatural heritage or risk certain death at their hands. But when Black Cross captures her friend—the vampire Balthazar—hiding is no longer an option.

Soon, Bianca and Lucas are on the run again, pursued not only by Black Cross, but by the powerful leaders of Evernight. Yet no matter how far they travel, Bianca can’t escape her destiny.

Bianca has always believed their love could survive anything . . . but can it survive what’s to come?

  • Amazon Sales Rank: #2217 in Books
  • Published on: 2010-03-01
  • Released on: 2010-03-09
  • Original language: English
  • Number of items: 1
  • Binding: Hardcover
  • 352 pages

Features

  • ISBN13: 9780061284410
  • Condition: NEW
  • Notes: Brand New from Publisher. No Remainder Mark.

Customer Reviews:

4 1/2 stars- Betrayal, death and heartache make for a fast paced and exciting read5
Stargazer was much more than I expected, Claudia Gray’s imagination carries the story even as the high tension between the 2 star crossed lovers Bianca (a rare born vampire) and Lucas (a vampire slayer) keep tension and drama high. This story was surprising and emotional and ends at a cliffhanger that will make you wonder how the author will ever be able to conclude her next book!

In the 3rd book of Claudia Gray’s series, Bianca and Lucas find themselves along with a human friend part of the secret Black Cross (deadly and ruthless vampire hunter). Even as Bianca ‘trains’ to kill the evil vampires she tries desperately to hide her vampire nature from the Black Cross members. And the stakes get higher as her vampire half takes over and her cravings for blood increase. Desperate, Lucas knows it is only a matter of time before they are caught and struggles to find a way for them both to escape. But when his hidden stash of money is discovered and taken they begin to despair. To add to their troubles the wraiths continue to haunt Bianca and they are taking on a more forceful approach. And to make matters even worse they find Balthazar, a good vampire friend of Bianca’s has been captured and is being tortured by the Black Cross. How can they save him and themselves, too? While Bianca becomes progressively and mysteriously weaker and the pact her parents made with the wraiths looms over Bianca’s future, tension builds to near claustrophobic levels. Can their relationship survive, will they?

This was an amazing read that you will not forget. Betrayal, death and heartache make for a fast paced and exciting read. As mentioned earlier, I have no idea how the author will continue her next book. There were a couple of big shocks that I never saw coming that were not resolved. I am still not sure how I feel about what eventually happens to Bianca, except to say it was tore at my heart. This story became even more emotional as the stakes for a life together elude Lucas and Bianca seem insurmountable The wall between them keeps getting higher and higher as circumstances are determined to keep them apart. They are the contemporary paranormal equivalent to Romeo and Juliet. Their love for each other is wonderful to read and it makes their short moments together all that more poignant and heartfelt. I loved this book even as I ground my teeth in frustration when I read the surprisingly and intense ending. The only reason I didn’t rate it a full 5 stars is because of the cliffhanger ending. Another year to wonder what will happen to a couple a care so much about. Argh!

Bianca and Lucas face life as fugitives in “Hourglass”4
The “Evernight” novels (Evernight (Evernight, Book 1), Stargazer (Evernight), Hourglass and Afterlife) focus on seventeen-year-old Bianca, half-vampire, half-human who’s in love with Lucas, a fearsome Black Cross vampire killer. In the third novel, Hourglass, the mysteries of Bianca’s birth (two vampires can only have a child with the help of wraiths, or ghosts) are slowly and painfully unraveled as she and Lucas live life on the lam.

At the close of “Stargazer,” Evernight Academy was torched by the Black Cross, a powerful vampire hunting society that’s existed for over a millennium. Now, Bianca and Lucas must take refuge in the place that endangers Bianca the most…right in the heart of the enemy. As Bianca fights to escape detection as a vampire, she begins to experience worsening dizzy spells. Cut off from her parents and her friends at Evernight, most notably Balthazar, Bianca is uncertain what to expect from her changing body. No one ever told her what happens to a half-vampire who refuses to make the transition…

“Hourglass” contains a winning blend of action and romance. Bianca’s world is turned upside-down; former Evernight friends become enemies, and certain former enemies lend a hand. Bianca’s relationship with Lucas finally heats up (tastefully). And the cliffhanger ending will leave fans on the edge of their seats until the fourth novel “Afterlife” comes out. Fans of The Twilight Saga Collection and Blue Bloods 3-Book Boxed Set will likely enjoy “Hourglass.”

Excellent third book5
Claudia Grey continues her love story of starcrossed lovers Bianca and Lucas in Hourglass, the third in the Evernight series.

The story begins with Bianca and Lucas working with Black Cross (a vampire hunting organization)and trying to hide Bianca’s true identity. The author is able to make this novel as exciting as the other two while breaking from the Evernight School location that was center in her other two novels. The mystery and final plot twist are foreshadowed but still surprising and the cliffhanger left me excited to read the next book in the series.

The Evernight series explores forbidden love like the Twilight books that are loved by teens but does it in a more exciting manner. Teens and Young adults will love this series.

As for possible objectionable content. The main characters have sex, the descriptions of which are not graphic. There is no alcohol or drug use. There is violence and biting because no vampire novel would be complete with out some biting.

From Booklist
The third heart-pounding page-turner in the best-selling Evernight series follows Bianca, the teenage daughter of vampire parents who has both bloodthirsty and human qualities, and her mortal beloved, Lucas, to Manhattan, a “city with a serious vampire problem.” Posing as a member of the vampire-hunting group Black Cross, to which Lucas belongs, Bianca continues to take part in the war between humans and vampires, which rages everywhere from elegant apartments to Central Park. Once again, Gray balances the tense, relentless action with passionate romance all the way to the shocking conclusion, which will leave readers demanding the next installment. A natural for Twilight series fans. Grades 9-12. –Gillian Engberg

About the Author

Claudia Gray (the pseudonym of New York-based writer Amy Vincent) is the author of Evernight and the New York Times bestseller Stargazer. She has worked as a lawyer, a journalist, a disc jockey, and an extremely poor waitress. Her lifelong interests in old houses, classic movies, vintage style, and history all played a part in creating the world of Evernight.